VHCC Remembers Sept. 11 Victims

With the American flag lowered to half staff, VHCC President Ron Proffitt this morning led the campus community in a moment of silence to remember those killed during the Sept. 11 terrorist attacks of 2001.
911

More than 100 students, faculty and staff members gathered for the brief ceremony at 9:30 a.m. The ceremony was not designed to blame anyone, Dr. Proffitt said, but rather to remember those killed that day 12 years ago. He thanked those in attendance, noting that the large crowd shows how much the VHCC family cares about others.

The remembrance continues today with a blood drive sponsored by the Student Government Association from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. in the MEC parking lot.Those interested in donating may register in ISC 101.

On Friday, faculty, staff and students are invited to give back to the community by volunteering during the National Day of Service. Participants may sort food at Feeding America Food Bank or help improve the walkway between EB Stanley Middle School and Abingdon High School. The walkway project is sponsored by Appalachian Sustainable Development. To register, please go to www.vhcc.edu/dayofservice.

3 thoughts on “VHCC Remembers Sept. 11 Victims

  1. I was working as a reporter at the Bristol Herald Courier then, and it was the only time during my 11-year career at the newspaper that we published a special edition. I spent the day talking to community members – city and county officials, education leaders, state leaders, and everyday citizens – and attended a local church service that evening. It’s hard to believe it’s been 12 years.

  2. I had just returned home from work and gone to bed. My mother called me to say that I needed to turn on the news, America was under attack. I turned the television on just in time to see the second plane hit the Twin Towers. Twelve years later, I am still in shock at the scenes of that day. At the time of the attacks, I was working as a Senior Supervisor in charge of new account orientations for Blue Cross/Blue Shield of Illinois, based out of the World Trade Centers. Though I was based in Virginia Beach, VA, my supervisor and other colleagues were in New York City and lost their lives that day.

  3. Geometry class. I will never forget staring across the hall into the Art room, where my sister was in class. I could see her cupping her mouth in astonishment at was taking place on the TV. All the while my teacher was saying nothing was happening and instructing the class to continue focusing on our quiz. It was beyond obvious that something was happening; the art room students were watching TV, one giveaway, and some had started to cry because of what was taking place, another uncommon reaction to morning TV. Nevertheless, our class sat there puzzled having no idea of what was taking place.

Comments are closed.