Student Warns that Molly is a Murderous Mixture

By Allie Widener

Regarded as a safe, glitzy drug, Molly is actually one of the most commonly tried drugs by first time users, with the exception of marijuana. In reality, Molly is a murderous mixture of miscellaneous chemicals that wreak havoc on the human mind and body. The new name for an old drug once called Ecstasy, Molly has taken center stage in raves, dance clubs, music festivals, and homes all over the globe.  Miley Cyrus, Madonna, and Kayne West have glorified it in our culture; claiming that the euphoria produced by the drug is worth the risks that accompany it.

So, what is Molly? Is it the drug you take when you want to feel good? Is it the drug you take when you want to have awesome sex? Or is it the drug you take when you want convulsions, organ failure, brain swelling, and hyperthermia? Is it the drug you take when you want to be driven insane by the overload of neurotransmitters directly related to depression and anxiety? Is it the drug you take when you want to risk your life? The answer to all of these questions is yes.  Of the plethora of reasons why people take Molly, sex, feeling good, enjoying music, and euphoria are the main ones given. What the majority of Molly users or potential users do not know, however, are the multitudes of dangerous side effects that always accompany the “good side” of the drug.

Methylenedioxymethamphetamine, or MDMA, is the scientific name for Molly. What I want to know is why people who would never dream of doing meth, will do Molly, which has methamphetamine as a root word. Side effects are similar as well. Psychosis, permanent brain damage, depression, heart attacks, seizures, and death are all side effects associated with Molly use.  These are just the serious ones; there are far more super uncomfortable ones that are common with every dose, such as clenching your jaw, tension, overheating, chills, severe stomach pain, chest pain, and emotional extremes.

Besides the obvious reasons why Molly sucks, it is also terrible because it is impossible to know what it is cut, or mixed with. When buying “Molly”, you could easily be getting cocaine, heroin, or bath salts, mixed with a very small percentage of MDMA. Talcum powder, baking soda, and Tylenol have also been known to be in “Molly”; pretty much any white powder is used under the guise of Molly.  Obviously, it is not good for your body to ingest bath salts or baking soda mixed with other various chemicals that react with chemicals in the body.

I realize this is an informative, scientific blog, but really, if you get nothing else from it, get this: Molly sucks. It KILLED my close friend.  A few short hours of “fun” are not worth the rest of your hours in a hospitable bed, a suicidal depression, or a GRAVE.

You may be wondering why I am so passionate about this, why I’m taking time to write a blog about it. Well, one reason is because Shelley Goldsmith died from this drug, and she was the close friend mentioned earlier. I know my Shelley would do everything in her power to raise awareness if the roles had been reversed. She deserves this. A life so great will not become a death in vain. Spreading awareness is now the only thing I can do for her, so I intend on doing it to the best of my capabilities.

My last motivator is even more personal. Right now, it is October 4, 2013, and a year ago today was when God changed my life around. In all reality, it should have been me instead of Shelley. I was a 97 pound girl utterly and hopelessly bound by drugs.I had no desire to live and was too afraid to die.Rock bottom for me was more like an avalanche. Things kept happening, and one day I woke up and I was so tired. I was tired of waking up in parking lots surrounded by puke, not having a clue what had happened the night before. I was tired of not being able to function without several pills burning my nose. Most of all, I was tired of feeling like I had wasted my life and dreams. I determined to fight to regain my future. Now, Shelley’s death has served as a wake up call; it has shown me what I should be doing. After all, who is better to speak to people experimenting with drugs than one who was an addict? By the grace of God, I climbed out of that dark abyss. Now it is my duty and mission to help others begin that same battle.

